The Society

Comprises of a council elected from its members.

The council

The society and council is governed by the President.  The President can hold office for no more than two successive years, unless no suitable candidate can be found then the President may be elected to serve an additional year.


We have positions on the council available and welcome new persons. Roles are not arduous, requiring a few hours per month. If you believe you can contribute, please do get in touch.

The council currently consists of the following members:

PresidentMyles Hamilton
Senior Vice PresidentJohn Rodgers
Junior Vice PresidentVacant
TreasurerFiona Harwood
Publicity OfficerMargaret Fox
Excursion SecretaryPeter Sapsford
Lecture ProgrammeSusan Beale
General SecretaryVacant
AuditorTony Rigby
LibrarianClive Boulter
Membership SecretaryBen Johnson
Geo-Conservation OfficerHelen James, Noel Pearson
Website OfficerBen Johnson
Member of CouncilPhil Davies, Noel Pearson, Alan Wise